1 / 26

Duchess Kent, Cosy, Central, Free Parking

Private room in home
hosted by Michelle
  1. 1 guest
  2. 1 bedroom
  3. 1 bed
  4. 1 shared bath
Self check-in
Check yourself in with the keypad.
Michelle is a Superhost
Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
Free cancellation before May 5.


Every booking includes free protection from Host cancellations, listing inaccuracies, and other issues like trouble checking in.
Unique Home!
Guest bedroom & guest bathroom (not ensuite) on ground floor of double story house.
Guests welcome to share our kitchen, dining room & lounge downstairs as in photos.
(Host private zone, bedrooms, lounge & bathrooms upstairs.)
Walk to hospitals, ACU, Ballarat Clarendon College, Lake Wendouree, IGA supermarket, pharmacy and cafes etc

The space
Unique house, high ceiling, double storey, house recently updated.
2 guest bedrooms on ground floor & guest bathroom, along with sitting room/lounge and our dining area and kitchen which you are welcome to use.
Bedroom 1 (2.7m x 5m) has queen size bed, with electric blanket, desk/table & chair/s & storage space, is listed separately as 'Dutch Colonial Ballarat Central'.
This listing 'Duchess Kent Ballarat Central' (3.5m x 3.5m) - has 1 king single bed.
Bedrooms have lockable doors. Ducted heating throughout house. Infinity hot water service so never run out of hot water! FREE WIFI ;

Bedroom (with lockable door) 3.5m x 3.5m, but with shelving and desks does not have a lot of floor space. Additional storage for large suitcases available under stair case.
3 empty drawers available below handbasin to store your toiletries. In the 4 drawer you will find hairdryer & straightener & other emergency supplies - help yourself if required.
The bathroom is for guests only, but it is not an ensuite - that is not directly entered from downstairs bedrooms.
Guest pantry with storage area for your food & bar fridge for guest use only. Help yourself to breakfast cereals. Feel free to my use kitchen appliances, DW, crockery and utensils.
TV with Telstra TV box with Netflix, You Tube & TV stations.
Just ask for assistance if you can't work out how to start washing machine.
Located next to bathroom - room to dry clothes in winter, fold washing & do ironing.
Available on request, locked, only suitable for use over summer, solar heated. Decor a little tired but still enjoyable particularly on really hot days.
Sitting at table under the massive walnut tree one of my favourite spots in summer.
Hosts private area, 3 bedrooms, study, 2 bathrooms & main lounge room. With doors closed can be shut off from downstairs.

Where you'll sleep

1 small double bed

What this place offers

Garden view
Free street parking
TV with Chromecast, Netflix
Free washer – In building
Private backyard – Fully fenced
Luggage dropoff allowed
Hair dryer

Where you’ll be

Ballarat Central, Victoria, Australia

Love the convenience of central location;
5-15 minute walk to supermarket, bakery, cafes, pub, other shops, Lake Wendouree, Ballarat Health Service & Australian Catholic University.
Also enjoy riding bikes (Ballarat very flat for riding). Popular activity for locals is to walk or jog around the lake - 6km. From my house, round trip about 7.5km.

7 nights in Ballarat Central

May 10, 2023 - May 17, 2023

4.94 out of 5 stars from 88 reviews

Hosted by Michelle

Joined in July 2014
  • 372 Reviews
  • Identity verified
  • Superhost
  • Airbnb.org supporter
Hi, I'm a Registered Nurse & have 21yo daughter, 16yo son & playful cat.
Enjoy playing tennis, riding my bike, walking, my work, gardening, cooking lots of different cuisines , reading biographies, music- many genres particularly jazz & baroque classical and reminiscing my youth with 70's and 80's music. Period movies & TV serials to escape & unwind.

I love meeting new people from different countries and enjoy hearing about their lives. l only wish l could remember more words in other languages from our bilingual guests.

I would like to travel more myself so enjoy hearing about your travel experiences. December 2018 we went to China, highlights were the Terracotta Warriors, Great Wall & night cruise in Chongqing.
In November 2015 we went to Europe for 1 month and attended the Airbnb Open in Paris. It was my first time in Rome & l loved all the history, art & architecture there. The trip consisted of 4 countries, 4 languages, 4 weeks & 4 Airbnb's for the 3 of us.
I've also been to UK, France (1998), USA , Singapore, Thailand, Mexico (~1996), Port Douglas in far north Queensland & Albury in New South Wales, in 2014. Have enjoyed many summer holidays in Point Lonsdale & Port Fairy & frequently visit Horsham my hometown.

As a shift worker in the Post Anaesthetic Recovery, l work about 25 hours per week, the days l work change from week to week and l work on the week ends sometimes.

The Family Principles that underpin my decisions and values l wish to be my legacy and teach my children,
l remember from the acronym CHILD:

Love & Life long learning
Hi, I'm a Registered Nurse & have 21yo daughter, 16yo son & playful cat.
Enjoy playing tennis, riding my bike, walking, my work, gardening, cooking lots of different…

During your stay

Usually have tea/coffee with guests on arrival. Respect privacy but happy to chat answer any questions etc

Michelle is a Superhost

Superhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.